Christian Cailín

Pursuing Proverbs 31 Pre-Marriage

Easter Resolutions

on April 8, 2012

Isn’t it a wonderful and joyous day to be a child of Christ? It is the day of His resurrection, the reminder that Jesus died on the cross to give us eternal life. For me this is a reminder of how much Jesus has given for me and how much I owe Him for this. It is a day to remember what it means to walk with Jesus. It is also springtime, when our gardens and parks are laden down with the evidence of new beginnings.

Typically one makes resolutions at the beginning of a new year, but for me, Easter seems like an appropriate time to make some resolutions too. I am not going to compile a huge list because I never seem to stick to things when I overwhelm myself with changes.

However, one issue that has been weighing on my heart, is the way in which I react to certain situations. I have a short temper and a tendency towards irritability and irrational responses (and not just because I am a female!). I am upset with the way I react and behave and often find myself looking back after a situation has erupted and thinking ‘Katie, why did you react like that?’ I don’t want to be a moody and grumpy person who always has something to complain or give out about. I want to be a joyful woman, who sees the good in life and in people and who reacts positively even in situations that may cause irritability. In Proverbs 21:9 it says:

It is better to live in a corner of the housetop than in a house shared with a quarrelsome wife. 

Now I am not yet a wife, but I am a daughter, a sister, a girlfriend and a housemate and I do not want to be quarrelsome or nagging in any of these roles. So I am resolving to revolutionise my actions and reactions. I am resolving to speak with kind words, with patience and with other people’s perspective in mind.

So, how do I plan to stick to this resolution? Simply put- accountability. I have asked all those close to me to ask me a question when my temper rises, when I use harsh hurtful words, when I dismiss someone else’s opinion or when I become defensive.

Katie, is that how you want to react?

It is such a simple question but difficult to answer. If in a situation my response is not Christlike, then I am not honouring my King and I have to respond with a no and rethink my reaction. This, I assure you, is easier said than done. But I am going to try. I am going to try so hard to break this cycle I have become trapped in.

How do you monitor your responses?


I am a new follower of Jesus and I love to hear the wisdom and advice of others.

