Christian Cailín

Pursuing Proverbs 31 Pre-Marriage

The Ironically Entitled Discipline Challenge- Week 2

on April 20, 2012

Understandably, it would appear from my blog that I have little to no discipline! However, bear with me, I am new to this blogging world and it’s going to take me a while to get into the swing of things.

Last week was not a good week for me. I have been in and out of hospital and in a lot of pain and so I was unable to partake in my exercise regime and won’t be able to for a couple of weeks. However the Lord has provided for me in so many ways this week and I have encountered some wonderful healthcare professionals who are really trying to help me manage my condition better. On the flip side,I did get lots of rest and drank lots of water.

This week is all to do with Time Management and there is no excuse for me not to work on this, as in my incapacitated state, I have plenty of time to get things in order!

Time Management in my greatest challenge, and it is purely down to my self discipline. I put everything on the long finger and I often find myself under pressure for tasks that I know I have had loads of time to do. One resource that I have to recommend is Time Management 101 from Money Saving Mom. It is a comprehensive ebook looking at all matters of Time Managemnt and how to create a Time Budget. You can download it free as well so don’t hesitate to get this resource!

Courtney’s challenge this week can be found here.

I’m not going to state all my priorities here but one thing that I’m struggling with is my Bible study and the time I spend studying other Christian resources. I find it difficult to fit it into my day and I usually leave it until the evening when I would much rather sit down and chill out with my love, or watch some telly! Now I work hard at college and I don’t go out often so I don’t want to begrudge myself some down time. However, I am learning that it is far more important to get my priorities in order, before I indulge myself.

I have written out a list of things that I think are important that I incorporate into my daily living. I prayed on this list and funny enough, it has changed a bit. With some thought and prayer, our priorities often change. For example, I now go to bed a half an hour earlier and get up a half an hour earlier. God wants me to make time for my Bible study, I know that! But I need to give it my best and that is not last thing at night. My new priority is to read my Bible and other resources first thing on the morning. I have established a new morning routine and this has made such a difference to my days. The way we begin our day sets the tone for the rest of the day.

I am excited to share with you that I have learnt, making time for God IS making time for me. They are the same. I no longer feel the need to watch brainless rubbish on the telly. My evenings are filled with more of His word and I am enjoying my time spent with the Lord. I have even starting sharing some of His word with my love and while he has not accepted Jesus as his Saviour, he listens with and open mind and this means so much to me.

My next aim is to make some more time for sharing my experiences and my new journey with the Lord with all of you.

How are you arranging your time more carefully? Does spending more time with the Lord actually result in a more productive day?

~Positive Prayer yields Positive Results~

-Katie

2 responses to “The Ironically Entitled Discipline Challenge- Week 2

  1. Well hello!! Love the look if the blog!! Can’t wait to browse around a bit!!

I am a new follower of Jesus and I love to hear the wisdom and advice of others.

